October 9, 2022

2022 Scholarship Winners

We are excited to announce the 2022 HERo and Crew Scholarship Winners!


The LTC Jaimie E. Leonard Warwick Crew Member Scholarship ($1500.00)

This scholarship is awarded to a coach-nominated Warwick High School Crew athlete (male or female) who is awesome, humble, and able to persevere in the face of challenges, a mentor to others, someone who does not give up. The winner of this scholarship is recognized as someone who values the camaraderie of the sport.  The Warwick Crew Coach selects the winner of this scholarship.  


Julia Zottola


Julia Zottola received the $1,500 LTC Jaimie E. Leonard Warwick Crew Member Scholarship. She has been a coxswain in the Warwick Crew team for four years, and was a captain during her senior year. In addition to crew, Julia was also very active within Warwick Valley High School, where she held multiple officer positions. Julia plans to attend Binghamton University to study Biology and Spanish, where she hopes to continue to stay active in clubs.

The HERo Scholarship ($2500.00) for Excellence in Community Service

This scholarship is awarded to a Warwick High School student who represents intelligence, leadership and concern for his/her community. Special consideration will be given to students who are actively making a difference in their community.  We also consider if the student has overcome certain obstacles in their lifetime, however this is not a requirement.

Ava Levitsky

Ava Levitsky was awarded the $2500.00 HERo Scholarship. Ava is a leader, athlete, and scholar who founded and served as President of the French Club, as well as participated in band, Coding Club, and Debate Team, and Varsity Crew Club. She has served her community as a certified volunteer firefighter, Sunday School Teacher Assistant, and Summer Junior Row Program Coach’s Assistant; all while working part-time at various jobs.  Ava plans to attend a four-year college and major in marketing and business.


Congratulations to Julia and Ava, and to all this year’s outstanding applicants for their tremendous achievements!